People,

-they have all these ideas
about love

all I think of as love
is people,

dancing first, alone
and in awe, perfectly
then stumbling into

a hall with another million
dancers,

and getting jumbled in each others styles
creating some sort of raucous rave.

When I think of love
I think of the dancers,
all their different moves:

the common trends,
the unique once-in-a whiles,
who go like Bob Marley
did on stage.

Like an oracle,
living myth,

and maybe kissing
my first love in the rain
and maybe some of the other

stuff that
came in the
rain as well,

while a fox watched us.

I caught him catching us
and that’s what love seems
to be to me now.

The coveting of that moment
over all others heard and having
been sung about
and filmed

and sewn and scratched,
cheap scars
and I don’t want to
belabor a poem

it’s little Witness
and I’m not going to even give it
a reference

except sex in the water
from The Crush
because that’s irresistible if
anything is.

Leave a Reply

